Montana Tech Library

Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Spring 4-27-2023

Approval letter for: Final Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, 2021 Unreclaimed Sites Sampling UR-36 Site Evaluation Summary Report (February 7, 2023)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

April 27, 2023

Mr. Mike McAnulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval letter for: Final Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, 2021 Unreclaimed Sites Sampling UR-36 Site Evaluation Summary Report (February 7, 2023)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, 2021 Unreclaimed Sites Sampling UR-36 Site Evaluation Summary Report (dated February 7, 2023)* with the following comment.

• During the development of forthcoming remedial action work plan for this site, please formalize and include "access controls" measures to prevent unauthorized access to areas of the site that have stormwater exceedances along with elevated levels of lead and arsenic. It is EPA's expectation that BSB and AR will report on the maintenance of the Access Controls (i.e., fence repairs, etc.) on a yearly basis, as defined in Appendix E to the Consent Decree, Institutional Control Implementation and Assurance Plan for the BPSOU Site.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager cc: (email only)

Butte File

Daryl Reed; DEQ Will George; DEQ

Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP

Katherine Hausrath; NRDP

Jim Ford; NRDP
Pat Cunneen; NRDP
John Gallagher; BSBC
Sean Peterson; BSBC
Eileen Joyce; BSBC
Eric Hassler; BSBC
Brandon Warner; BSBC
Chad Anderson; BSBC

Karen Maloughney; BSBC

Julia Crain; BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC

Sean Peterson; BSBC counsel

John DeJong; UP

Robert Bylsma; UP counsel

Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel

Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Lauren Knickrehm; for BNSF

Philip Hooper; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS

Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc.

Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel

Loren Burmeister; AR Josh Bryson; AR Chris Greco; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR

Dave Griffis; AR

Jean Martin; Counsel AR

Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Scott Bradshaw; TREC

Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR

Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG

David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith

Erin Agee, EPA Will Lindsey, EPA Aaron Urdiales; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA

Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor)

Janice Hogan; CTEC

Marissa Stockton; Rosendale State Director

Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library