## Montana Tech Library

## Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Spring 4-17-2023

Final Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, 2021 Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites Sampling Clark Mill Tailings (BRES No. 154) Site Evaluation Summary Report, dated (February 22, 2023)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund\_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



## UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15<sup>TH</sup> Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

April 17, 2023

Mr. Mike McAnulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Final Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, 2021 Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites Sampling Clark Mill Tailings (BRES No. 154) Site Evaluation Summary Report, dated (February 22, 2023)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, 2021 Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites Sampling – Clark Mill Tailings (BRES No. 154) Site Evaluation Summary Report (dated February 22, 2023)* with the following comment. Please address this comment and submit the evaluation report as final.

• During the review of this version of the evaluation report, it was noted that there are relative percent difference (RPD) results in Table A6 for the XRF replicates may not be correct. The arsenic RPD should be 7.6%, copper 16%, lead 1.8% and Zinc 3.1%. Please confirm and update the table accordingly. No qualification of the data is required.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager cc: (email only)

Butte File

Daryl Reed; DEQ Will George; DEQ

Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP

Katherine Hausrath; NRDP

Jim Ford; NRDP
Pat Cunneen; NRDP
John Gallagher; BSBC
Sean Peterson; BSBC
Eileen Joyce; BSBC
Eric Hassler; BSBC
Brandon Warner; BSBC
Chad Anderson; BSBC
Karen Maloughney; BSBC

Julia Crain; BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC

John DeJong; UP

Robert Bylsma; UP counsel

Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel

Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Lauren Knickrehm; for BNSF

Philip Hooper; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS

Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc.

Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel

Loren Burmeister; AR

Josh Bryson; AR Chris Greco; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR Dave Griffis; AR

Jean Martin; Counsel AR

Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Scott Bradshaw; TREC

Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR

Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR

Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG

David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith

Erin Agee, EPA Will Lindsey, EPA Aaron Urdiales; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA

Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor)

Janice Hogan; CTEC

Marissa Stockton; Rosendale State Director

Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library