Montana Tech Library

Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Summer 6-30-2022

Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites - Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 50 – Zelia (dated June 22, 2022)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

June 30, 2022

Mike Mc Anulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Rd Butte, MT 59701

Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites - Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 50 – Zelia (dated June 22, 2022)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *BPSOU Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU)* Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites - Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 50 – Zelia (dated June 22, 2022). Please address comment below and attach the Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) and Unreclaimed Sites QAPP to this FSP upon final distribution.

Comment:

• Please confirm that the newly proposed boundary changes include the existing boundary (i.e., black border) and that the historic boundary is not being removed, but rather, is being expanded.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

cc: (email only)
Butte File
Matt Dorrington, DEQ

Daryl Reed; DEQ Will George; DEQ

Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP Katherine Hausrath; NRDP

Jim Ford; NRDP
Pat Cunneen; NRDP
John Gallagher; BSBC
Sean Peterson; BSBC
Eileen Joyce; BSBC
Eric Hassler; BSBC
Brandon Warner; BSBC
Chad Anderson; BSBC
Karen Maloughney; BSBC

Julia Crain; BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC Anne Walsh; UP

Robert Bylsma; UP counsel

Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel

Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Lauren Knickrehm; for BNSF

Annika Silverman; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS

Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc.

Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel

Loren Burmeister; AR Josh Bryson; AR Chris Greco; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR Dave Griffis; AR

Jean Martin; Counsel AR

Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Scott Bradshaw; TREC

Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR

Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR

Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith

Erin Agee, EPA Joe Vranka; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA

Jean Belille; EPA

Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor)

Janice Hogan; CTEC

Marissa Stockton; Rosendale State Director

Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library