Montana Tech Library Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Winter 2-22-2022

Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites – Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 16 – Curry (dated January 12, 2022)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

February 22, 2022

Mr. Mike McAnulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites – Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 16 – Curry (dated January 12, 2022)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites – Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 16 – Curry (dated January 12, 2022).* Please note that historic sample TB-SO-05 as indicated within the text is not included on Figure 1. It is EPA's expectation that this correction will be made prior to final distribution of this FSP. Please attach the Reclaimed Areas Maintenance and Monitoring Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) and the Unreclaimed Sites QAPP to this FSP and distribute this FSP as final once the correction has been addressed.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

cc: (email only) Butte File Jenny Chambers; DEQ Matt Dorrington, DEQ Daryl Reed; DEQ

Will George; DEQ Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel Carolina Balliew: DEO Harley Harris; NRDP Katherine Hausrath; NRDP Jim Ford; NRDP Ray Vinkey; NRDP John Gallagher; BSBC Sean Peterson: BSBC Eileen Joyce; BSBC Eric Hassler; BSBC Brandon Warner; BSBC Chad Anderson: BSBC Karen Maloughney; BSBC Julia Crain; BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC Anne Walsh; UP Robert Bylsma; UP counsel Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel Doug Brannan; BNSF Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Jeremie Maehr; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Annika Silverman; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc. Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel Loren Burmeister; AR Josh Bryson; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR Dave Griffis: AR Jean Martin; Counsel AR Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Bradshaw; TREC Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith

Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith Erin Agee, EPA Joe Vranka; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA Jean Belille; EPA Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor) Janice Hogan; CTEC Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library