Montana Tech Library Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Spring 3-22-2022

Approval of the Final Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU), Revision 1 to the Final 2022 Site-Wide Surface Water Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated February 25, 2022)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

March 22, 2022

Mr. Josh Bryson Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, MT 59701 On behalf of Respondents

Re: Approval of the Final Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU), Revision 1 to the Final 2022 Site-Wide Surface Water Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated February 25, 2022)

Dear Josh:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving *Revision 1 to the Final 2022 Site-Wide Surface Water Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated February 25, 2022)*. Also, please provide an updated cover letter with the final submittal and add a header or footer to each of the pages that this indicates that this is "Revision 1" to the 2022 QAPP. Please include the attached revision summary signature page in the final version and distribute the QAPP. Please note that if this plan were to change, submit a revised QAPP to the EPA and DEQ for review.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

Attachment: revision summary signature page (electronic version)

cc: (email only) Butte File Jenny Chambers; DEQ

Matt Dorrington, DEQ Daryl Reed; DEQ Will George; DEQ Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP Katherine Hausrath; NRDP Jim Ford; NRDP Ray Vinkey; NRDP John Gallagher; BSBC Sean Peterson; BSBC Eileen Joyce; BSBC Eric Hassler: BSBC Brandon Warner; BSBC Chad Anderson; BSBC Karen Maloughney; BSBC Julia Crain: BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC Anne Walsh; UP Robert Bylsma; UP counsel Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Mark Engdahl; for BNSF Annika Silverman; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc. Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel Loren Burmeister; AR Josh Bryson; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR Dave Griffis; AR Jean Martin; Counsel AR Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Bradshaw; TREC Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG

David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith Erin Agee, EPA Joe Vranka; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA Jean Belille; EPA Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor) Janice Hogan; CTEC Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library