Montana Tech Library Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Fall 9-26-2022

Approval letter for the Request for Change (RFC) to the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Request for Change (RFC) No. 1 to the Final 2022 Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated August 31, 2022)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

September 26, 2022

Mr. Mike McAnulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval letter for the Request for Change (RFC) to the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Request for Change (RFC) No. 1 to the Final 2022 Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated August 31, 2022)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the Request for Change (RFC) No. 1 (dated August 31, 2022) to the *Final 2022 Insufficiently Reclaimed (IR) Sites Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP)* (dated July 12, 2022). Please attached the signed document revision summary page (with original approval signatures) and the signed RFC-IR-2022-01 to the QAPP and re-distribute.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

Attachments: signed revision summary page (electronic version), signed RFF-IR-2022-01 (electronic version).

cc: (email only) Butte File Matt Dorrington, DEQ Daryl Reed; DEQ Will George; DEQ Jon Morgan: DEO counsel Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP Katherine Hausrath; NRDP Jim Ford; NRDP Pat Cunneen; NRDP John Gallagher; BSBC Sean Peterson; BSBC Eileen Joyce; BSBC Eric Hassler; BSBC Brandon Warner: BSBC Chad Anderson; BSBC Karen Maloughney; BSBC Julia Crain; BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC John DeJong; UP Robert Bylsma; UP counsel Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Lauren Knickrehm; for BNSF Philip Hooper; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc. Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel Loren Burmeister; AR Josh Bryson; AR Chris Greco; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR Dave Griffis; AR Jean Martin; Counsel AR Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Bradshaw; TREC Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG

David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith Erin Agee, EPA Joe Vranka; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor) Janice Hogan; CTEC Marissa Stockton; Rosendale State Director Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library