Montana Tech Library Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Summer 6-13-2023

Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) 2023 Residential Metals Abatement Program Copper/Emmett Park Soil Remedial Action Work Plan (RAWP) (dated May 17, 2023)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

June 13, 2023

Mr. Mike McAnulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) 2023 Residential Metals Abatement Program Copper/Emmett Park Soil Remedial Action Work Plan (RAWP) (dated May 17, 2023)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) 2023 Residential Metals Abatement Program Copper/Emmett Park Soil Remedial Action Work Plan (RAWP)* (dated May 17, 2023). Please incorporate the following comments and distribute this RAWP submittal as final.

- <u>Section 4.4:</u> The conveyance rate calculation brief states that calculations were not based on an estimated flow rate from the artesian feature but rather the flow rates of the piping/trench. Please confirm the design flow rates are adequate for actual conditions. In addition, see comment below on Figure 7 and the details.
- <u>Figure 1:</u> The callout on the northern portion of the lot stating that the area where neighbors are parking will be removed and resodded. Please confirm controls there will be implemented to ensure the remedy will not be impacted.
- <u>Figure 5:</u> Please consider a valve box or shallow manhole for future maintenance/potential cleanout at the 3-way pipe junction north of the playground equipment area.
- <u>Figure 7, Detail 5, 6, 7, 8:</u> Due to times of the year when 4-inch perforated lines feeding the conveyance are running at high flows, please consider daylighting the new 4-inch conveyance line directly into the stormwater collection feature rather than tying this line into the existing 4 inch line coming from the west along the boulevard. These modifications may require additional appurtenances to the existing design as shown on Details 7 and 8 as well as additional coordination with BSB.
- <u>Figure 7, Detail 5 6, & Attachment C.</u> Please consider using an HDPE Geonet product in lieu of the proposed geotextile to minimize eventual silt collection and fabric blinding.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

cc: (email only) Butte File Daryl Reed; DEQ Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP Katherine Hausrath; NRDP Jim Ford: NRDP Pat Cunneen; NRDP John Gallagher; BSBC Sean Peterson; BSBC Eileen Joyce; BSBC Eric Hassler; BSBC Brandon Warner; BSBC Chad Anderson; BSBC Karen Maloughney; BSBC Julia Crain; BSBC Abby Peltomaa; BSBC Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC Sean Peterson; BSBC counsel John DeJong; UP Robert Bylsma; UP counsel Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Lauren Knickrehm; for BNSF Philip Hooper; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc. Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel Loren Burmeister; AR Josh Bryson; AR Chris Greco; AR Mike Mcanulty; AR

Dave Griffis; AR Jean Martin; Counsel AR Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Bradshaw; TREC Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith Erin Agee, EPA Will Lindsey, EPA Aaron Urdiales; EPA Jamie Miller; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor) Janice Hogan; CTEC Marissa Stockton; Rosendale State Director Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library