Montana Tech Library

Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Summer 6-26-2023

Approval for the Request for Change BG-2023-01 to Final BPSOU Hydrocarbon Sampling and Treatability Study, Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated May 15, 2023)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

June 26, 2023

Mr. Josh Bryson Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval for the Request for Change BG-2023-01 to Final BPSOU Hydrocarbon Sampling and Treatability Study, Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated May 15, 2023)

Dear Josh:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Request for Change BG-2023-01 to Final BPSOU Hydrocarbon Sampling and Treatability Study, Quality Assurance Project Plan (QAPP) (dated May 15, 2023)* with the following comments that need to be addressed in the evaluation report. Please attached the approval page and submit as final.

Specific Comments

- 1. Please clarify/summarize the homogenization techniques when presenting the results. SOP SS-6 Compositing Soil Samples (included in the Hydrocarbon QAPP) calls for mixing the subsamples in a stainless steel bowl with a stainless spoon. Some VOC losses should be expected during compositing, and this should be discussed when the results are presented. More elaborate and effective compositing techniques are presented in ITRC's Incremental Sampling Guidance (ISM-2) which should be considered in the future when sampling for and compositing inorganics. The sampling results from the 2022 Hydrocarbon Treatability Study (Table 10a of Attachment G of Appendix A of the BG 60% Remedial Design Report) shows that the variability between a natural sample and a duplicate sample collected at the same time are not nearly as much as the difference between the field sample analyses (April 20, 2022) and the analyses performed by ReSolution Partners, LLC (May 23, 2022). This should also be discussed in the evaluation report.
- 2. When the results are presented, please provide plots with error bars around the initial sample means and the treated samples (using standard deviation calculated from the three analyses).

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

Attachment: EPA and DEQ signature page

Butte File

Chris Greco / Atlantic Richfield

Josh Bryson / Atlantic Richfield

Mike Mc Anulty / Atlantic Richfield

Loren Burmeister / Atlantic Richfield

Dave Griffis / Atlantic Richfield

Jean Martin / Atlantic Richfield

Irene Montero / Atlantic Richfield

David A. Gratson / Environmental Standards

Mave Gasaway / DGS

Adam Cohen / DGS

Brianne McClafferty / Holland & Hart

Daryl Reed / DEQ

Amy Steinmetz / DEQ

Dave Bowers / DEQ

Katie Garcin-Forba / DEQ

Carolina Balliew / DEQ

Jim Ford / NRDP

Pat Cunneen / NRDP

Katherine Hausrath / NRDP

Ted Duaime / MBMG

Gary Icopini / MBMG

Becky Summerville / MR

John DeJong / UP

Robert Bylsma / UP

John Gilmour / Kelley Drye

Leo Berry / BNSF

Robert Lowry / BNSF

Brooke Kuhl / BNSF

Lauren Knickrehm / BNSF

Doug Brannan / Kennedy Jenks

Matthew Mavrinac / RARUS

Harrison Roughton / RARUS

Brad Gordon / RARUS

Mark Neary / BSB

Eric Hassler / BSB

Julia Crain / BSB

Brandon Warner / BSB

Abigail Peltomaa / BSB

Eileen Joyce / BSB

Sean Peterson/BSB

Josh Vincent / WET

Scott Bradshaw / W&C

Emily Stoick / W&C

Pat Sampson / Pioneer

Andy Dare / Pioneer

Karen Helfrich / Pioneer

Randa Colling / Pioneer

Ian Magruder/ CTEC

CTEC of Butte

Scott Juskiewicz / Montana Tech

David Shanight / CDM Smith

Curt Coover / CDM Smith

Chapin Storrar / CDM Smith

Erin Agee / EPA

Will Lindsey / EPA

Aaron Urdiales / EPA

Jamie Miller / EPA

Chris Wardell / EPA

Dana Barnicoat / EPA

Charlie Partridge / EPA

Kristi Carroll / Montana Tech Library