Montana Tech Library

Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Fall 10-16-2023

Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Buffalo Gulch Request for Change (RFC)-2023-04 (dated October 4, 2023) to the Final Buffalo Gulch Soil Characterization Sampling and Analysis Plan (dated October 18, 2018)

Nikia Greene Environmental Protection Agency

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons

Recommended Citation

Greene, Nikia, "Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Buffalo Gulch Request for Change (RFC)-2023-04 (dated October 4, 2023) to the Final Buffalo Gulch Soil Characterization Sampling and Analysis Plan (dated October 18, 2018)" (2023). Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site. 904. https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte/904

This Government Report is brought to you for free and open access by the Montana Superfund at Digital Commons @ Montana Tech. It has been accepted for inclusion in Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Montana Tech. For more information, please contact sjuskiewicz@mtech.edu.



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

October 16, 2023

Mr. Josh Bryson Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Buffalo Gulch Request for Change (RFC)-2023-04 (dated October 4, 2023) to the Final Buffalo Gulch Soil Characterization Sampling and Analysis Plan (dated October 18, 2018)

Dear Josh:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the Buffalo Gulch Request for Change (RFC)-2023-04 to the Final Buffalo Gulch Soil Characterization Sampling and Analysis Plan (dated October 18, 2018) with the following comments. After these comments have been addressed/considered, please attached the signature page and distribute as final.

- Please change the sample collection time frame from Summer 2023 to Fall 2023.
- Please incorporate this RFC into the original SAP for the 2023 annual update.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

Attachments: EPA and MDEQ Signature Page (electronic version only)

Butte File

Chris Greco / Atlantic Richfield

Josh Bryson / Atlantic Richfield

Mike Mc Anulty / Atlantic Richfield

Loren Burmeister / Atlantic Richfield

Dave Griffis / Atlantic Richfield

Jean Martin / Atlantic Richfield

Irene Montero / Atlantic Richfield

David A. Gratson / Environmental Standards

Mave Gasaway / DGS

Adam Cohen / DGS

Brianne McClafferty / Holland & Hart

Daryl Reed / DEQ

Logan Dudding / DEQ

Amy Steinmetz / DEQ

Dave Bowers / DEQ

Katie Garcin-Forba / DEQ

Doug Martin / NRDP

Jim Ford / NRDP

Pat Cunneen / NRDP

Katherine Hausrath / NRDP

Ted Duaime / MBMG

Gary Icopini / MBMG

Becky Summerville / MR

John DeJong / UP

Robert Bylsma / UP

John Gilmour / Kelley Drye

Leo Berry / BNSF

Robert Lowry / BNSF

Brooke Kuhl / BNSF

Lauren Knickrehm / BNSF

Doug Brannan / Kennedy Jenks

Matthew Mavrinac / RARUS

Harrison Roughton / RARUS

Brad Gordon / RARUS

Mark Neary / BSB

Eric Hassler / BSB

Julia Crain / BSB

Brandon Warner / BSB

Abigail Peltomaa / BSB

Eileen Joyce / BSB

Sean Peterson/BSB

Josh Vincent / WET

Scott Bradshaw / W&C

Emily Stoick / W&C

Pat Sampson / Pioneer

Andy Dare / Pioneer

Karen Helfrich / Pioneer

Randa Colling / Pioneer

Scott Sampson / Pioneer

Ian Magruder/ CTEC

CTEC of Butte

Scott Juskiewicz / Montana Tech

David Shanight / CDM Smith

Curt Coover / CDM Smith

Chapin Storrar / CDM Smith

Erin Agee / EPA

Will Lindsey / EPA

Aaron Urdiales / EPA

Christina Progess / EPA

Jamie Miller / EPA

Carolina Balliew / EPA

Chris Wardell / EPA

Dana Barnicoat / EPA

Charles Van-Otten / EPA

Charlie Partridge / EPA

Kristi Carroll / Montana Tech Library