Montana Tech Library

Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Spring 4-11-2022

Approval of Quality Assurance Project Plan [QAPP], 2022, Butte Mine Flooding Operable Unit and Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, Private Well Monitoring Program, dated November 2021, revised version received February 10, 2022

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

April 11, 2022

Mr. Ted Duaime Project Manager/Hydrogeologist Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology 1300 West Park Street Butte, MT 59701

Re: Approval of *Quality Assurance Project Plan* [QAPP], 2022, Butte Mine Flooding Operable Unit and Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit, Private Well Monitoring Program, dated November 2021, revised version received February 10, 2022

Dear Ted:

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), approves the above-described document from Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology (MBMG). The signed QAPP is included with this letter. Please have the MBMG QA Manager sign the document and send the final, signed, version to the distribution list.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 406-457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

cc: (email only)
Butte File

Jenny Chambers; DEQ Matt Dorrington, DEQ Daryl Reed; DEQ

Will George; DEQ

Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel

Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP

Katherine Hausrath; NRDP

Jim Ford; NRDP

Pat Cunneen; NRDP

John Gallagher; BSBC

Sean Peterson; BSBC

Eileen Joyce; BSBC

Eric Hassler; BSBC

Brandon Warner; BSBC

Chad Anderson; BSBC

Karen Maloughney; BSBC

Julia Crain; BSBC

Abby Peltomaa; BSBC

Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC

Anne Walsh; UP

Robert Bylsma; UP counsel

Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel

Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Mark Engdahl; for BNSF

Annika Silverman; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS

Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc.

Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel

Loren Burmeister; AR

Josh Bryson; AR

Mike Mcanulty; AR

Dave Griffis; AR

Jean Martin; Counsel AR

Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR

Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR

Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Scott Bradshaw; TREC

Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR

Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR

Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR

Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR

Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR

Ted Duaime; MBMG

Gary Icopini; MBMG

David Shanight, CDM Smith

Curt Coover, CDM Smith

Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith

Erin Agee, EPA Joe Vranka; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA

Jean Belille; EPA

Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor)

Janice Hogan; CTEC Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library

Mark Thompson, MR Jeremy Fleege, MR