Montana Tech Library

Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Fall 9-20-2022

Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Annual Quality Assurance Project Plan for Butte Reduction Works (BRW) Smelter Area Mine Waste Remediation and Contaminated Groundwater Hydraulic Control Site; Phase I BRW Quality Assurance Project Plan (dated July 20, 2022)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund_silverbowbutte

Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15TH Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

September 20, 2022

Mr. Josh Bryson Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Annual Quality Assurance Project Plan for Butte Reduction Works (BRW) Smelter Area Mine Waste Remediation and Contaminated Groundwater Hydraulic Control Site; Phase I BRW Quality Assurance Project Plan (dated July 20, 2022)

Dear Josh:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Annual Quality Assurance Project Plan for Butte Reduction Works (BRW) Smelter Area Mine Waste Remediation and Contaminated Groundwater Hydraulic Control Site; Phase I BRW QAPP, (dated July 20, 2022)*, with the following comments:

- Section 2.5.1, Step 2 Please change "What is the direction of flow and chemical variability of groundwater within the alluvial aquifer at the BRW Site?" to "What are the concentrations of COCs in groundwater and what is the direction of flow and chemical variability of groundwater within the alluvial aquifer at the BRW Site?"
- Section 2.5.1, Step 3 It appears that item 4 under item 3 Piezometers is mis-formatted and should not be a numbered bullet.
- If the content or the technical approach provided in the plans have changed or requires revisions, please submit the revised plan to EPA and DEQ. Changes that require a revision to a QAPP include changes made to the sampling strategy, sample quantities and analysis, and piezometer and monitoring stations. Any sampling/field activity that requires such a change to a QAPP must be approved prior to conducting the activity.
- Please attach the EPA and DEQ approval page and EPA crosswalk to the QAPP and distribute as final.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

Attachments: EPA crosswalk and EPA and DEQ signature page

cc: (email only)

Butte File

Matt Dorrington, DEQ

Daryl Reed; DEQ

Will George; DEQ

Jon Morgan; DEQ counsel

Carolina Balliew; DEQ Harley Harris; NRDP

Katherine Hausrath; NRDP

Jim Ford; NRDP

Pat Cunneen; NRDP

John Gallagher; BSBC

Sean Peterson; BSBC

Eileen Joyce; BSBC

Eric Hassler; BSBC

Brandon Warner; BSBC

Chad Anderson; BSBC

Karen Maloughney; BSBC

Julia Crain; BSBC

Abby Peltomaa; BSBC

Jeremy Grotbo; BSBC

John DeJong; UP

Robert Bylsma; UP counsel

Leo Berry; BNSF and UP counsel

Doug Brannan; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Brooke Kuhl; BNSF counsel Lauren Knickrehm; for BNSF

Philip Hooper; Kennedy Jenks for BNSF and UP

Bob Andreoli; Patroit/RARUS

Becky Summerville; counsel for Inland Properties Inc.

Robert Lowry, BNSF counsel

Loren Burmeister; AR

Josh Bryson; AR

Chris Greco; AR

Mike Mcanulty; AR

Dave Griffis; AR

Jean Martin; Counsel AR

Mave Gasaway; attorney for AR Adam Cohen; Counsel for AR Pat Sampson; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR

Scott Bradshaw; TREC

Karen Helfrich; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR Scott Sampson; Pioneer for AR Brad Archibald; Pioneer for AR Andy Dare; Pioneer for AR

Tina Donovan; Woodardcurran for AR

Ted Duaime; MBMG Gary Icopini; MBMG

David Shanight, CDM Smith Curt Coover, CDM Smith Chapin Storrar; CDM Smith

Erin Agee, EPA Joe Vranka; EPA Chris Wardell; EPA Dana Barnicoat; EPA Charlie Partridge; EPA

Ian Magruder; CTEC (Tech Advisor)

Janice Hogan; CTEC

Marissa Stockton; Rosendale State Director

Kristi Carroll; Montana Tech Library