# Montana Tech Library

# Digital Commons @ Montana Tech

Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Superfund Site

Montana Superfund

Summer 8-10-2023

Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites – Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 48 – Old Glory West (dated July 25, 2023)

Nikia Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.mtech.edu/superfund\_silverbowbutte Part of the Environmental Health and Protection Commons, Environmental Indicators and Impact Assessment Commons, and the Environmental Monitoring Commons



#### UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8, MONTANA OFFICE

FEDERAL BUILDING, 10 West 15<sup>TH</sup> Street, Suite 3200 Helena, MT 59626-0096 Phone 866-457-2690 www.epa.gov/region8

Ref: 8MO

August 10, 2023

Mr. Mike McAnulty Liability Manager Atlantic Richfield Company 317 Anaconda Road Butte, Montana 59701

## Re: Approval letter for the Butte Priority Soils Operable Unit (BPSOU) Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites – Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 48 – Old Glory West (dated July 25, 2023)

Dear Mike:

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), in consultation with the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), is approving the *Draft Final Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites – Field Sampling Plan (FSP) BRES No. 48 – Old Glory West (dated July 25, 2023)* with the following comments. It is EPA's expectation that the following comments will be addressed prior to final distribution of this FSP. Please attach the Insufficiently Reclaimed Sites quality assurance project plan (QAPP) and the Unreclaimed Sites QAPP to this FSP and distribute once the comments have been addressed.

## Comments

- 1. <u>Figure 1</u>. To date, EPA has not agreed that all previous reclamation on private property will automatically be transferred to the RMAP program. The BRES No. 48 Old Glory West is an example and EPA believes that the original boundary is a fairly close representation of the original reclamation work performed at this site. Therefore, if the sampling results indicate that further remedial work is necessary at this site, the areas on private property to the west and northwest that are not actively maintained by the landowner (e.g., lawn areas) must also be considered and included in the RAWP for this site, if a RAWP is necessary.
- 2. <u>Sampling Procedure, Page 9:</u> Samples being collected under the UR Site QAPP have a sample ID listed as "IR-17" indicating they are for BRES No.17. Please revise to indicate they are being collected for BRES No. 48.
- 3. Please confirm the naming convention for samples collected under the Unreclaimed Sites QAPP as all proposed samples begin with a prefix "IR" including the samples being collected under the UR Sites QAPP. Please revise as appropriate.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (406) 457-5019.

Sincerely,

Nikia Greene Remedial Project Manager

Butte File Chris Greco / Atlantic Richfield Josh Bryson / Atlantic Richfield Mike Mc Anulty / Atlantic Richfield Loren Burmeister / Atlantic Richfield Dave Griffis / Atlantic Richfield Jean Martin / Atlantic Richfield Irene Montero / Atlantic Richfield David A. Gratson / Environmental Standards Mave Gasaway / DGS Adam Cohen / DGS Brianne McClafferty / Holland & Hart Daryl Reed / DEQ Amy Steinmetz / DEQ Dave Bowers / DEQ Katie Garcin-Forba / DEQ Carolina Balliew / DEQ Jim Ford / NRDP Pat Cunneen / NRDP Katherine Hausrath / NRDP Ted Duaime / MBMG Gary Icopini / MBMG Becky Summerville / MR John DeJong / UP Robert Bylsma / UP John Gilmour / Kelley Drye Leo Berry / BNSF Robert Lowry / BNSF Brooke Kuhl / BNSF Lauren Knickrehm / BNSF Doug Brannan / Kennedy Jenks Matthew Mavrinac / RARUS

Harrison Roughton / RARUS Brad Gordon / RARUS Mark Neary / BSB Eric Hassler / BSB Julia Crain / BSB Brandon Warner / BSB Abigail Peltomaa / BSB Eileen Joyce / BSB Sean Peterson/BSB Josh Vincent / WET Scott Bradshaw / W&C Emily Stoick / W&C Pat Sampson / Pioneer Andy Dare / Pioneer Karen Helfrich / Pioneer Randa Colling / Pioneer Scott Sampson / Pioneer Ian Magruder/ CTEC CTEC of Butte Scott Juskiewicz / Montana Tech David Shanight / CDM Smith Curt Coover / CDM Smith Chapin Storrar / CDM Smith Erin Agee / EPA Will Lindsey / EPA Aaron Urdiales / EPA Christina Progess / EPA Jamie Miller / EPA Chris Wardell / EPA Dana Barnicoat / EPA Charlie Partridge / EPA Kristi Carroll / Montana Tech Library