Date of Award


Degree Type

Bachelors Thesis

Degree Name

Bachelor of Science in Geological Engineering




The five counties discussed in this paper compose the northernmost and westernmost counties in Montana. On the eastern boundary are Glacier National Park and the Continental Divide; on the southern boundary are Missoula and Powell counties; Idaho lies on the southwestern and western side; and the Canadian border lies along the northern edge. The region is on the Pacific Ocean side of the Rocky Mountains. Three major rivers, the Clark Fork, the Flathead, and the Kootenai drain this area into the Columbia River.